Negotiating Committee & Indigenous Advisory Caucus

Negotiating Committee

Allison Muri, Chief Negotiator

Allison Muri

Department of English
Phone: 966-5503

Allison joined the U of S faculty in 2004. She is a Professor in the Department of English, specializing in Digital Humanities and Eighteenth-Century Literature. Allison joined the Joint Committee for the Management of the Agreement (JCMA) Caucus in 2009 and became a member of JCMA in 2011, and continued to work on one or both committees until joining the Negotiating Committee for the 2014-2017 Collective Agreement. She is a member of the USFA Executive Committee and was Chief Negotiator for the 2017–22 Collective Agreement, Letters of Understanding with the Employer in response to COVID, and for the 2022–2023 extension of the Agreement.


Johanne Brassard

Johanne Brassard, USFA Member Services OfficerUSFA Member Services Officer
Phone: 966-5610

Since Johanne joined the staff of the USFA in 2001, one of her primary areas of responsibility has been negotiations. She is an active participant at the bargaining table and supports the Negotiating Committee as well as the Negotiations Caucus. Johanne has been a member of the Negotiating Committee for the last seven agreements, bringing to the bargaining table more than a quarter century of knowledge and experience gained from bargaining collective agreements here and as a local union leader with the United Steelworkers Union.

Anas El-Aneed

College of Pharmacy & Nutrition
Phone: 966-2013
Email: anas

Anas El-Aneed is a professor and Assistant Dean, Pharmacy at the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition; he joined the University of Saskatchewan in 2008 and has been participating in USFA collective bargaining since 2012. He is passionate about teaching in the areas of pharmaceutical chemistry and analytical mass spectrometry. His research focuses on the use of mass spectrometry for the analysis of small molecules and pharmaceuticals and has published over 70 peer-reviewed publications to date. He supervised over 40 HQPs during his tenure with USASK. He is appointed by the federal government to the NSERC governing council since 2018. He has served on USFA committees such as JCMA and the Communications Committee and has been a member of the negotiating team since 2012.

Doug Chivers

Doug ChiversDepartment of Biology 
Phone: 966-4419

Doug Chivers is an accomplished behavioural and evolutionary ecologist in the Department of Biology. His research focusses on how anthropogenic disturbance alters predation dynamics and prey cognition. Doug is a University of Saskatchewan Distinguished Professor. His research has been cited more than 20,000 times. He is a Fellow of the Animal Behaviour Society and the Royal Society of Canada. Doug has served as the USFA Chair and Vice Chair several times and has been involved in Collective Bargaining for much of his career at the University of Saskatchewan.

Courtney Charles

College of Pharmacy & Nutrition
Phone: 966-3211
Email: courtney.charles@usask.caCourtney Charles is a certified geriatric pharmacist with experience in community pharmacy, long-term care, and end-of-life care. She teaches pharmacology to pharmacy and nursing students at the University of Saskatchewan in the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, with special interests in labour relations and anti-racism. Within the USFA, Courtney prioritizes Instructor and Lecturer representation, building community, and de-centering whiteness in the Collective Agreement through collaborative work on the Joint Committee for Management of the Agreement, the Collective Negotiating Committee, and the Committee on Women’s Issues.

Heather Foulds

Heather Foulds

College of Kinesiology
Phone: 966-1067

Heather Foulds, Ph.D. (she/her/hers), is a member of Métis Nation-Saskatchewan. Her family comes from the Métis communities of Bresaylor and Langemeade, Saskatchewan. She is an Associate Professor in the College of Kinesiology at the University of Saskatchewan and the Heart & Stroke/CIHR Indigenous Early Career Women’s Heart and Brain Health Chair. Heather joined the USFA in 2014 and has been a member of the USFA Committee on Women’s Issues since 2019 and a member of the USFA Indigenous caucus since 2021.

Abbie Kappel

Abbie Kappel

USFA Member Services Officer
Phone: 966-6309

Abbie Kappel joined the USFA staff in 2019 as a co-op student with the Edwards School of Business where she had the chance to sit at the table during the final stages of negotiations for the 2017-22 Collective Agreement. Since stepping into her role as Member Services Officer in 2021, she has supported the work of the Negotiating Committee and Caucus and is looking forward to participating in her first full round of negotiations.



Darrell Mousseau

Department of Psychiatry
Phone: 966-8824

Darrell Mousseau is a professor and PhD scientist with the Department of Psychiatry, College of Medicine. His research focusses on understanding how to accurately diagnose Alzheimer disease at stages before the disease progresses too far for proper management. He teaches primarily graduate students and residents. When the University of Saskatchewan’s interests are at stake, Darrell maintains objectivity through his administrative contributions that include participation in numerous college and university committees and as a member of the bargaining team for the last two rounds of negotiations of the Collective Bargaining Agreement between USFA and the employer.

Indigenous Advisory Caucus

Holly Graham

Department of Psychiatry
Phone: 966-2126

Holly Graham is a member of the Thunderchild First Nation, SK. She has worked as a Registered Nurse (RN) in northern communities and various other health care environments since 1985. Currently, Holly is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry, College of Medicine, Usask. She also maintains an active practice as a Registered Doctoral Psychologist, working primarily with individuals who have experienced trauma and symptoms of posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Holly’s research is strength-based with a focus on Indigenous health, mental health, and wellness. She joined the newly created Indigenous Caucus in 2021.

Winona Wheeler

Department of Indigenous Studies
Phone: 966-6210

Winona Wheeler is an Associate Professor and Undergraduate Chair in the Department of Indigenous Studies. She joined the University of Saskatchewan in 1988 (to 1996) and returned in 2010. Her research includes Indigenous oral history, Treaty Rights, land claims, Indigenous education, and anti-colonial Indigenous research methodologies grounded in community engagement. Winona is a member of the Fisher River Cree Nation (Treaty 5) and her family comes from George Gordon First Nation (Treaty 4). She joined the newly created Indigenous Caucus in 2021.

Alex Wilson

Department of Educational Foundations More to come!