# University of Saskatchewan Faculty Association (USFA) Academic Freedom Award

## Terms of Reference

## 1) Preamble:

Academic freedom is the freedom of faculty members to teach or communicate ideas or facts without being targeted for repression, job loss, or imprisonment.

The University of Saskatchewan Faculty Association (USFA) has long recognized the importance of academic freedom to the work of faculty. In fact the USFA was one of the groups representing faculty at Canadian universities who, in the 1950s, came together to form CAUT and actively defend attacks on academic freedom.

The Harry Crowe Foundation, established in 2002 by CAUT, is a registered charity that sponsors research and conducts conferences on issues in post-secondary education including freedom of academic expression, social factors affecting research priorities, institutional autonomy and governance, and scholarly communication in a digital age. The Foundation is named after Harry S. Crowe whose academic freedom case, when he was unjustly dismissed by United College, Winnipeg, Manitoba, gave rise to the modern day CAUT.

At the first USFA Academic Freedom conference (2005), it was decided to recognize a person(s) who reflects the courage, determination, and tenacity in confronting institutional injustice inherently necessary to champion academic freedom. The USFA Academic Freedom award is intended to recognize distinguished contributions to understanding and defending this crucial concept.

#### 2) The Award:

The Award will take the form of a donation of \$1,000 to the Harry Crowe Foundation in the recipient's name. Presentation of the Award will take place at an awards dinner to Which Award recipients may invite up to 10 people at the expense of the USFA.

#### 3) Eligibility:

Open to a person, persons or organization who has championed academic freedom at the University of Saskatchewan or elsewhere in Canada. Past Award recipients, current USFA Executive Committee members, members of the Selection Committee, current members of the Academic Freedom Committee and USFA Staff are not eligible for this award.

#### 4) Selection Criteria:

The Award is given to a person, persons or organization who has contributed to the understanding and advancement of the concept of academic freedom at the University of Saskatchewan or elsewhere in Canada through the promotion, defence or exercise of academic freedom.

It may be determined that no nominee meets the criteria for the award.

## 5) Selection Committee:

The Selection Committee shall consist of members of the USFA Member Development Committee but shall include no more than two members of the current Executive Committee. Quorum for all Selection Committee meetings shall be at least five members from the Member Development Committee.

### 6) Nomination Procedures:

Each year, the Selection Committee will be responsible for issuing a call for nominations. Nominations for this award can be made by any current USFA member or by any USFA committee except current USFA members who are serving on the Selection Committee and the USFA Member Development Committee. In the event of a tie, no award shall be given.

The nomination will be in the form of a letter, not exceeding 1,000 words, from the nominator describing how the nominee has made significant contributions to the promotion, defence or exercise of academic freedom. Nominators must also include a written agreement from the nominee that the nomination will be accepted.

By simple majority vote, the Selection Committee shall inform the Executive Committee the name of the successful candidate for the award.